Cultural Development Committee (CDC)


1st Wednesday (typically) of every month at 11:30 am

City Hall

310 Ward Street Nelson BC Canada V1L 5S4


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View minutes, reports, bylaw and related documents


  • Sydney Black, Chair


The role of the Cultural Development Committee is to lead Council in the strategic planning and development of the community's cultural sector in collaboration with all sectors of the economy. The Committee makes recommendations to Council and promotes heritage and a high level of creativity, diversity and excellence in the cultural life of Nelson



The CDC consists of a maximum of 11 voting members.

Member Representation

Category 1

City Supported Organizations, 3-year term

  1. Capitol Theatre Restoration Society (E.D.)
  2. Touchstones Nelson: Museum of Art and History (E.D.)
  3. Nelson Civic Theatre Society (E.D.)
  4. Nelson and District Arts Council (E.D)

Category 2

Community Arts Organizations, 3-year term

  1. Oxygen Art Centre(aka Nelson Fine Art Centre Society) (E.D.)
  2. Selkirk College/Kootenay Studio Arts

Category 3

Regional Affiliated Support Organizations, 3-year term

  1. Nelson Kootenay Lake Tourism(E.D.)
  2. West Kootenay Regional Arts Council (E.D.)

Category 4

General Representatives, 2 Year Terms

  1. Literature
  2. Music
  3. Dance
  4. Aboriginal

Category 5

  • One member of City Council, plus alternate


  • 5 members


City of Nelson
Cultural Development Committee
Suite 101, 310 Ward Street
Nelson BC V1L 5S4
Phone: 250-352-8234